It Ain’t Me, Babe by Tillie Cole

Genre: Dark Romance

Page Count: 466

Rating: 1/5

Mae has followed the word of Prophet David her entire life. Everything she and the people of her commune do is based on their beliefs. It is a miserable existence. After a horrific event convinces her to flee all that she has ever known, Mae finds herself out in a wide world full of sinners and devils. 

One sinner in particular looks an awful lot like a boy she met in the forest years ago, a boy who saved her when she was at her lowest. A boy that has now grown up to be the president of the most ruthless MC around. 


I’m so sad about it but this just didn’t work for me. The plot was interesting enough though I felt like there were a lot of slow points in there especially the middle portion of the book but the vague intrigue I had was went kept me slogging away to the end just so I could satisfy my curiosity. 

There was some nice disability rep in here with Styx’s speech impediment and a lot of our characters using sign language to communicate which I thought was really well done. Styx’s battle with himself around this and his sheer frustration at his inability to communicate how he wanted to was very believable. 

I just didn’t like the story arc for Mae though. I was so mad at her for running from a cult straight into the arms of the MC and entering into another kind of entrapment. While I don’t think that was the intention of the story there were plenty of times when Styx was adamant that Mae wasn’t leaving the compound and the way she was inducted into the MC lifestyle was almost conditioning in and of itself. That’s not to mention the insta love! Seriously girl you have just escaped a cult in which you experienced horrific things at the hands of the men around you and you’re running straight into the arms of a man you’ve not seen in years (and only met once) who is capable of committing extreme violence himself and all of a sudden you’re madly in love and have been saved. I’m not having that there would be no fear there or a least a little bit of apprehension. 

Now, I’m only going to mention this briefly even though it was the biggest issue for me but the way women were spoken about in this book gave me the serious ick. I didn’t like it AT ALL. I know, I know there’s a certain culture in the Motorcycle club world but it just wasn’t my cup of tea. 

A disappointing read for me all in all. 

Let me know you’re thoughts if you’ve read this, I’m curious to know if its a me problem!

See you in the next one folks,

Jen x

Leave a comment