Get A Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Page Count: 384

Rating: 3/5

When Chloe Brown’s life flashes before her eyes in the midst of a near death experience she realises exactly how dull it is. She uses her new outlook to make a list of seven things she wants to do to shake things up. Things like: 1 – move out of her parents house, 5 – have meaningless sex, 7- do something bad. Now she just needs to cross them all off. 


This was a fun and flirty romance with a heavy dose of sarcastic banter which I greatly appreciated. It did take me a little while to gel with Chloe’s POV as she came across as such a clinical and closed off person at the beginning but I enjoyed it in the end. Red however, was the saving grace of this book for me. 

There was a bit of an ‘enemies to lovers’ trope in here as the two clashed at the beginning but it wasn’t anything too extreme and we soon saw Red succumb to the mutual attraction and become totally smitten with Chloe. I really enjoyed that he fell for her first and his POV was my favourite by far as it had quite a bit of humour. 

There was a lot of chronic illness representation in here which while it is amazing to see, did come across as a bit heavy handed for me personally. I get that Chloe is ill, I am capable of remembering that and don’t need it hammered home every sentence when it doesn’t add anything to the plot, but maybe thats just me being cynical. I did think the gaslighting aspect from Red previous relationship was well handled though. Top points for that. 

Overall it was a quick and easy contemporary romance with a nice bit of steam. Also there was a cat; instant win for that. 

Have you read this one, let me know your thoughts!

See you in the next one friends,

Jen x

Leave a comment